What is Zimbabwe?


Zimbabwe (/zɪmˈbɑːbweɪ/ zim-BAHB-way), officially the Republic of Zimbabwe, is a landlocked country located in Southern Africa, between the Zambezi and Limpopo rivers. It is bordered by South Africa to the south, Botswana to the southwest, Zambia to the northwest and Mozambique to the east. The capital is Harare. Zimbabwe achieved recognised independence from Britain in April 1980, following a 14-year period as an unrecognised state under the predominantly white minority government of Rhodesia, which unilaterally declared independence in 1965. Rhodesia briefly reconstituted itself as black-majority ruled Zimbabwe Rhodesia in 1979, but this order failed to gain international acceptance.

Read more about Zimbabwe.

Some articles on Zimbabwe:

Zimbabwe - National Anthem
... "Blessed be the Land of Zimbabwe" (Shona "Simudzai Mureza wedu WeZimbabwe" Northern Ndebele "Kalibusiswe Ilizwe leZimbabwe") is the national anthem of Zimbabwe ... into all three of the main languages of Zimbabwe ...