What is Kuomintang?

  • (noun): The political party founded in 1911 by Sun Yat-sen; it governed China under Chiang Kai-shek from 1928 until 1949 when the Communists took power and subsequently was the official ruling party of Taiwan.
    Synonyms: Guomindang


The Kuomintang of China ( /ˌkwoʊmɪnˈtɑːŋ/ or /-ˈtæŋ/; KMT), sometimes romanized as Guomindang (GMD) via the Pinyin transcription system, and translated as the Chinese Nationalist Party, was one of the dominant parties of the early Republic of China, from 1912 onwards, and remains one of the main political parties in modern Taiwan. Its guiding ideology is the Three Principles of the People, advocated by Sun Yat-sen. It is the oldest political party in the Republic of China, which it helped found, and its party headquarters are located in Taipei. It is currently the ruling party in Taiwan, and holds most seats in the Legislative Yuan. The KMT is a member of the International Democrat Union. Current president Ma Ying-jeou, elected in 2008 and re-elected in 2012, is the seventh KMT member to hold the office of the presidency.

Read more about Kuomintang.

Some articles on Kuomintang:

List Of Presidents Of The Republic Of China - The List - Chairmen of The Nationalist Government
... Party Vice President 1 Tan Yankai 譚延闓 7 February 10 ... October 1928 Kuomintang vacant 2 Chiang Kai-shek 蔣中正 10 October 15 ... December 1931 Kuomintang vacant 3 Lin Sen 林森 15 December ...
List Of Presidents Of The Control Yuan
... Party Cai Yuanpei 1928 – 1929 Zhao Daiwen 1929 – 1930 Kuomintang Yu You-jen 1930 – 1964 Kuomintang Lee Shih-tsung 1964 – 1972 Kuomintang Chang Wei-han 1972 – 1973 Kuomintang Yu Chun-hsien 1973 ...
Kuomintang - Stance On Separatism
... The Kuomintang is anti separatist, and during its rule on mainland China, it crushed Uyghur and Tibetan separatist uprisings ... The Kuomintang claims sovereignty over Mongolia and Tuva as well as the territories of the modern People's Republic and Republic of China ... The Kuomintang Muslim General Ma Bufang waged war on the invading Tibetans during the Sino-Tibetan War with his Muslim army, and he repeatedly crushed Tibetan revolts during ...
List Of Magistrates Of Pingtung County
... Name Office Political party Chang Shan-chung (張山鐘) 1951 – 1954 Kuomintang Lin Shih-cheng (林石城) 1954 – 1960 Kuomintang Lee Shih-chang (李世昌) 1960 – 1964 Kuomintang Chang Feng ...
List Of Presidents Of The Republic Of China - The List - Presidents After The 1947 Constitution
... of Office Political Party Vice President 1 Chiang Kai-shek 蔣中正 20 May 21 ... January 1949 Kuomintang Li Zongren 1948 — Li Zongren 李宗仁 21 January 1 ... March 1950 Kuomintang vacant 1 Chiang Kai-shek ... Yen 嚴家淦 6 April 20 ... May 1978 Kuomintang vacant 3 Chiang Ching-kuo 蔣經國 20 May 13 ... January 1988 Kuomintang Hsieh Tung-min Lee Teng-hui 4 Lee Teng-hui ...