Short Line Railroad of The Year

The Short Line Railroad of the Year is an annual award presented to North American short line (Class III) railroads by rail transport industry publication Railway Age.

Past recipients of this award are:

  • 1992 - RailTex
  • 1994 - Central Vermont Railroad (CV)
  • 1995 - New England Central Railroad (NECR)
  • 1996 - Philadelphia, Bethlehem and New England Railroad (PBNE)
  • 1997 - Livonia, Avon and Lakeville Railroad (LAL)
  • 1998 - St. Lawrence and Atlantic Railroad (SLA)
  • 1999 - South Central Florida Express (SCFE)
  • 2000 - Arkansas Midland Railroad (AKMD)
  • 2001 - South Buffalo Railway (SBR)
  • 2002 - Winchester and Western Railroad (WW)
  • 2003 - San Joaquin Valley Railroad (SJVR)
  • 2004 - Nittany and Bald Eagle Railroad (NBER)
  • 2005 - Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Railway (CIC)
  • 2006 - Georgia Midland Railroad (GMA)
  • 2007 - R.J. Corman Railroad/West Virginia Line
  • 2008 - Twin Cities and Western Railroad
  • 2009 - Pacific Harbor Line, Inc.
  • 2010 - Greenville and Western Railway (GRLW)
  • 2011 - Blacklands Railroad
  • 2012 - Vermont Railway

Other articles related to "short line railroad of the year, railroad, line railroad of the year":

South Buffalo Railway - Short Line Railroad of The Year
... Preceded by Arkansas Midland Railroad Short Line Railroad of the Year 2001 Succeeded by Winchester and Western Railroad ...

Famous quotes containing the words year, railroad, line and/or short:

    ... in all cases of monstrosity at birth anaesthetics should be applied by doctors publicly appointed for that purpose... Every successive year would see fewer of the unfit born, and finally none. But, it may be urged, this is legalized infanticide. Assuredly it is; and it is urgently needed.
    Tennessee Claflin (1846–1923)

    This I saw when waking late,
    Going by at a railroad rate,
    Looking through wreaths of engine smoke
    Far into the lives of other folk.
    Robert Frost (1874–1963)

    Their bodies are buried in peace; but their name liveth for evermore.
    Apocrypha. Ecclesiasticus, 44:14.

    The line “their name liveth for evermore” was chosen by Rudyard Kipling on behalf of the Imperial War Graves Commission as an epitaph to be used in Commonwealth War Cemeteries. Kipling had himself lost a son in the fighting.

    Iambics march from short to long;—
    With a leap and a bound the swift Anapaests throng;
    Samuel Taylor Coleridge (1772–1834)