Metropolitan and Non-metropolitan Counties of England

Metropolitan And Non-metropolitan Counties Of England

Metropolitan and non-metropolitan counties are one of the four levels of subdivisions of England used for the purposes of local government outside Greater London. As originally constituted, the metropolitan and non-metropolitan counties each consisted of multiple districts, had a county council and were also the counties for the purposes of Lieutenancies. Later changes in legislation during the 1980s and 1990s have allowed counties without county councils and 'unitary authority' counties of a single district. Counties for the purposes of Lieutenancies are now defined separately, based on the metropolitan and non-metropolitan counties. In 2009 there were further structural changes in some areas.

Read more about Metropolitan And Non-metropolitan Counties Of England:  Current Metropolitan and Non-metropolitan Counties of England, History, 2009 Structural Changes

Other related articles:

Metropolitan And Non-metropolitan Counties Of England - 2009 Structural Changes
2009 the following changes were made to the non-metropolitan counties Non-metropolitan county Action Bedford (borough) Also became a non-metropolitan county Bedfordshire Abolished Central Bedfordshire New non ...

Famous quotes containing the words england and/or metropolitan:

    I perceive that we inhabitants of New England live this mean life that we do because our vision does not penetrate the surface of things. We think that that is which appears to be.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)

    In metropolitan cases, the love of the most single-eyed lover, almost invariably, is nothing more than the ultimate settling of innumerable wandering glances upon some one specific object.
    Herman Melville (1819–1891)