Kali Yuga

Kali Yuga (Devanāgarī: कलियुग, lit. "age of Kali", or "age of vice") is the last of the four stages the world goes through as part of the cycle of yugas described in the Indian scriptures. The other ages are Satya Yuga, Treta Yuga and Dvapara Yuga.

The Mahabharata War and the decimation of Yadavas thus happened at the Yuga-Sandhi i.e. the joint of the two yugas.

The scriptures mention Sage Narada to have momentarily intercepted the demon Kali on his way to the Earth when Duryodhana was about to be born...to make him an embodiment of 'arishadvargas' and adharma in preparation of the era of decay in values and the consequent havoc.

The duration and chronological starting point in human history of Kali Yuga has given rise to different evaluations and interpretations. According to the Surya Siddhanta, Kali Yuga began at midnight (00:00) on 18 February 3102 BCE in the proleptic Julian calendar, or 14 January 3102 BC in the proleptic Gregorian calendar. This date is also considered by many Hindus to be the day that Krishna left Earth to return to his abode.

Most interpreters of Hindu scriptures believe that Earth is currently in Kali Yuga. Other authors such as Swami Sri Yukteswar, and Paramhansa Yogananda believe that it is now Dvapara Yuga. Aurbindo Ghosh has written that Kali Yuga is now over. The Kali Yuga is sometimes thought to last 432,000 years, although other durations have been proposed.

Hindus believe that human civilization degenerates spiritually during the Kali Yuga, which is referred to as the Dark Age because in it people are as far away as possible from God. Hinduism often symbolically represents morality (dharma) as a bull. In Satya Yuga, the first stage of development, the bull has four legs, but in each age morality is reduced by one quarter. By the age of Kali, morality is reduced to only a quarter of that of the golden age, so that the bull of Dharma has only one leg.

Kali Yuga is associated with the apocalyptic demon Kali, not to be confused with the goddess Kālī (read as Kaalee) (these are unrelated words in the Sanskrit language). The "Kali" of Kali Yuga means "strife, discord, quarrel, or contention."

Read more about Kali Yuga:  Personification

Other articles related to "yuga, yugas, kali yuga":

Saptarishi - Names of The Sapta Rishis - The Present, Seventh Manvantara - The Interval of Vaivasvata Manu
... The Saptarishis keep changing for every Yuga ... As per Hindu Shastras, there are four yugas - 1.Krita Yuga 2 ... Treta Yuga 3 ...
Personification - Kali Yuga in Sikhism
... believed that one should meditate on God as much as possible because of the world being in Kali Yuga ... Because of Kali Yuga, it is stressed that one should meditate as much as possible to reach the state of Nirvana and be liberated or be one with God ... Guru Granth Sahib Ji on Ang1185 says ab kaloo aaeiou rae Now, the Dark Age of Kali Yuga has come ...
Avater - Avatars of Vishnu - Dashavatara
... The first four are said to have appeared in the Satya Yuga (the first of the four Yugas or ages in the time cycle described within Hinduism) ... The next three avatars appeared in the Treta Yuga, the eighth descent in the Dvapara Yuga and the ninth in the Kali Yuga ... The tenth, Kalki, is predicted to appear at the end of the Kali Yuga ...
Dashavatara - Historical Perspective
... The first four incarnations of Vishnu appeared in Satya or Kritha Yuga, the first of the four Yugas ... The next three appeared in Treta Yuga, the eighth and ninth in Dwapara Yuga and the tenth will appear in Kali Yuga ... The time till completion for Kali Yuga is in 427,000 years ...