Joseph Cryan

Joseph Cryan

Joseph P. Cryan (born September 1, 1961, East Orange, New Jersey) is an American Democratic Party politician, who has served in the New Jersey General Assembly since 2002, where he represents the 20th Legislative District. He was the Majority Leader of the New Jersey General Assembly, serving from January 12, 2010 until January 10, 2012.

Cryan served as the Assembly's Deputy Majority Leader 2006-2010, and was Assistant Majority Leader from 2004 to 2005. He serves on the Human Services Committee and the Law and Public Safety Committee.

Cryan has served on the New Jersey State Democratic Committee since 2002, as Vice Chair. On February 17, 2006, Mr. Cryan was selected to be the head of the New Jersey Democratic State Committee, succeeding Bonnie Watson Coleman. He stepped down after the selection of his successor John S. Wisniewski on January 27, 2010.

In 1996, Cryan was elected as the Township of Union's Democratic Municipal Chairman. He is an Undersheriff with the Union County Sheriff's Office.

Read more about Joseph CryanPersonal, Democratic State Chairman, District 20