British Ceylon

British Ceylon, known contemporaneously as Ceylon, was a British Crown colony between 1815 and 1948. At first the area it covered did not include the Kingdom of Kandy, which was a protectorate from 1815, but from 1817 to 1948 the British possessions included the whole island of Ceylon, now the nation of Sri Lanka.

Read more about British Ceylon:  Demographics, Further Reading

Other articles related to "british ceylon, ceylon, british":

British Ceylon - Further Reading
... Ceylon Under British Rule, 1795-1932 ... The Plantation Tamils of Ceylon ... Dutch and British Colonial Intervention in Sri Lanka, 1780-1815 Expansion and Reform ...
List Of Cingalese Privy Council Cases - British Ceylon
... Ceylon became a British colony in 1796 ... The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council was established by an act of the British Parliament in 1833 ... Its jurisdiction was extended to Ceylon by implication ...

Famous quotes containing the word british:

    It is very considerably smaller than Australia and British Somaliland put together. As things stand at present there is nothing much the Texans can do about this, and ... they are inclined to shy away from the subject in ordinary conversation, muttering defensively about the size of oranges.
    Alex Atkinson, British humor writer. repr. In Present Laughter, ed. Alan Coren (1982)