Bhutanese Refugees

Bhutanese refugees are Lhotshampas ("southerners"), a group of people of Nepalese origin, including some Kirat, Tamang, and Gurung peoples. These refugees registered in refugee camps in eastern Nepal during the 1990s as Bhutanese citizens deported from Bhutan. As Nepal and Bhutan have yet to implement any agreement on repatriation, many Bhutanese refugees have since resettled to North America and Europe under the auspices of the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

Read more about Bhutanese RefugeesHistorical Background, Refugees Outside Bhutan

Other articles related to "bhutanese refugees, refugee, refugees, bhutanese":

Bhutanese Refugees - Refugees Outside Bhutan - Resettlement Efforts
... offered to resettle 60,000 of the 107,000 Bhutanese refugees of Nepalese origin then living in seven U.N ... refugee camps in southeastern Nepal, and began receiving this group in 2008 ... New Zealand offered to settle 600 refugees over a period of five years starting in 2008 ...
Immigration To Bhutan - History - Immigration From Nepal and India (1959–present) - Bhutanese Refugees
... In 1989, the Bhutanese government enacted reforms that directly impacted the Lhotshampa ... Peoples' Party, whose members are mostly Lhotshampa, began a campaign of violence against the Bhutanese government ... Many of them have either entered Nepal's seven refugee camps (on January 20, 2010, 85,544 refugees resided in the camps) or are working in India ...

Famous quotes containing the word refugees:

    The exile is a singular, whereas refugees tend to be thought of in the mass. Armenian refugees, Jewish refugees, refugees from Franco Spain. But a political leader or artistic figure is an exile. Thomas Mann yesterday, Theodorakis today. Exile is the noble and dignified term, while a refugee is more hapless.... What is implied in these nuances of social standing is the respect we pay to choice. The exile appears to have made a decision, while the refugee is the very image of helplessness.
    Mary McCarthy (1912–1989)