What is South Yorkshire?

  • (noun): A metropolitan county in northern England.

South Yorkshire

South Yorkshire is a metropolitan county in the Yorkshire and the Humber region of England. It has a population of 1.34 million (2011). It consists of four metropolitan boroughs: Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield. South Yorkshire was created on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972.

Read more about South Yorkshire.

Some articles on South Yorkshire:

List Of People From South Yorkshire
... The list of people from South Yorkshire, in northern England, is divided by metropolitan borough ... South Yorkshire is a metropolian county created in 1974 and so people from the area before this year were from the earlier West Riding of Yorkshire Sheffield ...
Sheffield Archives - History of Archive Collecting in Sheffield - 1945 - 1960
... with the late Lord Scarbrough in the chair at the meeting it was decided to set up a South Yorkshire committee of the National Register ... the National Register, was faced with a particular South Yorkshire problem at this time ... of an archivist as the National Register of Archives, South Yorkshire committee's representative (working from the Central Library) for about eighteen months during 1953-4 was a great asset ...
Yorkshire Terrier (bus Company) - History - Foundation
... The company was founded in 1988 to compete against South Yorkshire Transport, the dominant operator in Sheffield ... and Dixon all three were former managers from South Yorkshire Transport's East Bank depot which was closed in early 1988 ... This depot was right next door to South Yorkshire Transport's Greenland Road depot ...
Sheffield Archives - History of Archive Collecting in Sheffield - 1974 - 1986
... In 1974, with the creation of a new (county) tier of local government for South Yorkshire, the South Yorkshire County Council established a county ... the metropolitan county councils in 1986, the South Yorkshire County Record Office (SYCRO) based at Ellin Street in Sheffield, acquired material relating to the county ...
List Of Tripoints Of England - Ceremonial County Tripoints
... Staffordshire SO805841 Derbyshire South Yorkshire West Yorkshire SE118027 Derbyshire Nottinghamshire South Yorkshire SK534797 Derbyshire ... Wiltshire Gloucestershire ST812865 Avon Somerset Wiltshire ST799585 Cleveland Durham North Yorkshire NZ196157 ...

Famous quotes containing the word south:

    My course is a firm assertion and maintenance of the rights of the colored people of the South according to the Thirteenth, Fourteenth, and Fifteenth Amendments, coupled with a readiness to recognize all Southern people, without regard to past political conduct, who will now go with me heartily and in good faith in support of these principles.
    Rutherford Birchard Hayes (1822–1893)