Werner Heisenberg

Werner Heisenberg

Werner Karl Heisenberg (5 December 1901 – 1 February 1976) was a German theoretical physicist who was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1932 "for the creation of quantum mechanics". Heisenberg, along with Max Born and Pascual Jordan, set forth the matrix formulation of quantum mechanics in 1925. In 1927 he published his uncertainty principle, upon which he built his philosophy and for which he is best known. He also made important contributions to the theories of the hydrodynamics of turbulent flows, the atomic nucleus, ferromagnetism, cosmic rays, and subatomic particles, and he was instrumental in planning the first West German nuclear reactor at Karlsruhe, together with a research reactor in Munich, in 1957. Considerable controversy surrounds his work on atomic research during World War II.

Following World War II, he was appointed director of the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute for Physics, which was soon thereafter renamed the Max Planck Institute for Physics. He was director of the institute until it was moved to Munich in 1958, when it was expanded and renamed the Max Planck Institute for Physics and Astrophysics.

Heisenberg was also president of the German Research Council, chairman of the Commission for Atomic Physics, chairman of the Nuclear Physics Working Group, and president of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

Read more about Werner Heisenberg:  Honors and Awards, Internal Reports, Publications

Other articles related to "werner heisenberg, heisenberg, werner":

Copenhagen (play)
... that occurred in Copenhagen in 1941, a meeting between the physicists Niels Bohr and Werner Heisenberg ... David Burke (Niels Bohr), Sara Kestelman (Margrethe Bohr), and Matthew Marsh (Werner Heisenberg) ...
Werner Heisenberg - Publications - Books
... Werner Heisenberg Physics and Beyond Encounters and Conversations (Harper Row, 1971) — Busche, Jürgen (1979) ... Werner Heisenberg Physik und Philosophie Weltperspektiven ... Werner Heisenberg and F ...
Alsos Mission - Germany
... Otto Hahn was at his laboratory in Tailfingen, while Werner Heisenberg and Max von Laue were at Heisenberg's laboratory in Hechingen, and the ... were captured at Goettingen and Katlenburg-Lindau, including Werner Osenberg, the chief of the planning board of the Reichsforschungsrat (National Research ... Werner Heisenberg remained at large, having left Hechingen on 19 April ...
Copenhagen (play) - Production History
... David Burke as Niels Bohr, Sara Kestelman as Margrethe Bohr, and Mattew Marsh as Werner Heisenberg ... as Niels Bohr, Corinna Marlowe as Margarethe Bohr, and William Brand as Werner Heisenberg, and after six months, they replaced the original cast for ... Starring Philip Bosco as Bohr, Michael Cumpsty as Heisenberg and Blair Brown as Margrethe, it went on to win the Tony Award for Best Play, along ...
Erich Fischer - Internal Reports
... von Uran für langsame Neutronen G-79 (26 June 1941) Fritz Bopp, Erich Fischer, Werner Heisenberg, Carl-Friedrich von Weizsäcker, and Karl Wirtz ... Walther Bothe, Erich Fischer, Erwin Fünfer, Werner Heisenberg, O ...