Subdivisions of England - Lists of Subdivisions - Hierarchical List of Regions, Counties and Districts

Hierarchical List of Regions, Counties and Districts

Region Ceremonial county Metropolitan or
Districts, boroughs and cities
East of England
Essex 1. Thurrock U.A.
2. Southend-on-Sea U.A.
3. Essex † a) Harlow, b) Epping Forest, c) Brentwood, d) Basildon, e) Castle Point, f) Rochford, g) Maldon, h) Chelmsford, i) Uttlesford, j) Braintree, k) Colchester, l) Tendring
4. Hertfordshire † a) Three Rivers, b) Watford, c) Hertsmere, d) Welwyn Hatfield, e) Broxbourne, f) East Hertfordshire, g) Stevenage, h) North Hertfordshire, i) St Albans, j) Dacorum
Bedfordshire 5. Luton U.A.
6. Bedford U.A.
7. Central Bedfordshire U.A.
Cambridgeshire 8. Cambridgeshire † a) Cambridge, b) South Cambridgeshire, c) Huntingdonshire, d) Fenland, e) East Cambridgeshire
9. Peterborough U.A.
10. Norfolk † a) Norwich, b) South Norfolk, c) Great Yarmouth, d) Broadland, e) North Norfolk, f) King's Lynn and West Norfolk, g) Breckland
11. Suffolk † a) Ipswich, b) Suffolk Coastal, c) Waveney, d) Mid Suffolk, e) Babergh, f) St. Edmundsbury, g) Forest Heath
East Midlands
Derbyshire 1. Derbyshire † a) High Peak, b) Derbyshire Dales, c) South Derbyshire, d) Erewash, e) Amber Valley, f) North East Derbyshire, g) Chesterfield, h) Bolsover
2. Derby U.A.
Nottinghamshire 3. Nottinghamshire † a) Rushcliffe, b) Broxtowe, c) Ashfield, d) Gedling, e) Newark and Sherwood, f) Mansfield, g) Bassetlaw
4. Nottingham U.A.
5. Lincolnshire † a) Lincoln, b) North Kesteven, c) South Kesteven, d) South Holland, e) Boston, f) East Lindsey, g) West Lindsey
Leicestershire 6. Leicestershire † a) Charnwood, b) Melton, c) Harborough, d) Oadby and Wigston, e) Blaby, f) Hinckley and Bosworth, g) North West Leicestershire
7. Leicester U.A.
8. Rutland U.A.
9. Northamptonshire † a) South Northamptonshire, b) Northampton, c) Daventry, d) Wellingborough, e) Kettering, f) Corby, g) East Northamptonshire
Greater London
1. Greater London

a) City of Westminster, b) Kensington and Chelsea, c) Hammersmith and Fulham, d) Wandsworth, e) Lambeth, f) Southwark, g) Tower Hamlets, h) Hackney, i) Islington, j) Camden, k) Brent, l) Ealing, m) Hounslow, n) Richmond, o) Kingston upon Thames, p) Merton, q) Sutton, r) Croydon, s) Bromley, t) Lewisham, u) Greenwich, v) Bexley, w) Havering, x) Barking and Dagenham, y) Redbridge, z) Newham, aa) Waltham Forest, ab) Haringey, ac) Enfield, ad) Barnet, ae) Harrow, af) Hillingdon

2. City of London (Liberties: Inner Temple, Middle Temple)
North East England
1. Northumberland U.A.
2. Tyne and Wear * a) Newcastle upon Tyne, b) Gateshead, c) North Tyneside, d) South Tyneside, e) Sunderland
Durham 3. Durham U.A.
4. Darlington U.A.
5. Hartlepool U.A.
6. Stockton-on-Tees U.A.
North Yorkshire
7. Redcar and Cleveland U.A.
8. Middlesbrough U.A.
North West England
Cheshire 1. Cheshire East U.A.
2. Cheshire West and Chester U.A.
3. Halton U.A.
4. Warrington U.A.
5. Cumbria † a) Barrow-in-Furness, b) South Lakeland, c) Copeland, d) Allerdale, e) Eden, f) Carlisle
6. Greater Manchester * a) Bolton, b) Bury, c) Manchester, d) Oldham, e) Rochdale, f) Salford, g) Stockport, h) Tameside, i) Trafford, j) Wigan
Lancashire 7. Lancashire † a) West Lancashire, b) Chorley, c) South Ribble, d) Fylde, e) Preston, f) Wyre, g) Lancaster, h) Ribble Valley, i) Pendle, j) Burnley, k) Rossendale, l) Hyndburn
8. Blackpool U.A.
9. Blackburn with Darwen U.A.
10. Merseyside * a) Knowsley, b) Liverpool, c) St. Helens, d) Sefton, e) Wirral
South East England
1. Berkshire † a) West Berkshire U.A., b) Reading U.A., c) Wokingham U.A., d) Bracknell Forest U.A., e) Windsor and Maidenhead U.A., f) Slough U.A.
Buckinghamshire 2. Buckinghamshire † a) South Bucks, b) Chiltern, c) Wycombe, d) Aylesbury Vale
3. Milton Keynes U.A.
East Sussex 4. East Sussex † a) Hastings, b) Rother, c) Wealden, d) Eastbourne, e) Lewes
5. Brighton & Hove U.A.
Hampshire 6. Hampshire † a) Fareham, b) Gosport, c) Winchester, d) Havant, e) East Hampshire, f) Hart, g) Rushmoor, h) Basingstoke and Deane, i) Test Valley, j) Eastleigh, k) New Forest
7. Southampton U.A.
8. Portsmouth U.A.
9. Isle of Wight U.A.
Kent 10. Kent † a) Dartford, b) Gravesham, c) Sevenoaks, d) Tonbridge and Malling, e) Tunbridge Wells, f) Maidstone, g) Swale, h) Ashford, i) Shepway, j) Canterbury, k) Dover, l) Thanet
11. Medway U.A.
12. Oxfordshire † a) Oxford, b) Cherwell, c) South Oxfordshire, d) Vale of White Horse, e) West Oxfordshire
13. Surrey † a) Spelthorne, b) Runnymede, c) Surrey Heath, d) Woking, e) Elmbridge, f) Guildford, g) Waverley, h) Mole Valley, i) Epsom and Ewell, j) Reigate and Banstead, k) Tandridge
14. West Sussex † a) Worthing, b) Arun, c) Chichester, d) Horsham, e) Crawley, f) Mid Sussex, g) Adur
South West England
Somerset 1. Bath and North East Somerset U.A.
2. North Somerset U.A.
11. Somerset † a) South Somerset, b) Taunton Deane, c) West Somerset, d) Sedgemoor, e) Mendip
3. Bristol U.A.
Gloucestershire 4. South Gloucestershire U.A.
5. Gloucestershire † a) Gloucester, b) Tewkesbury, c) Cheltenham, d) Cotswold, e) Stroud, f) Forest of Dean
Wiltshire 6. Swindon U.A.
7. Wiltshire U.A.
Dorset 8. Dorset † a) Weymouth and Portland, b) West Dorset, c) North Dorset, d) Purbeck, e) East Dorset, f) Christchurch
9. Poole U.A.
10. Bournemouth U.A.
Devon 12. Devon † a) Exeter, b) East Devon, c) Mid Devon, d) North Devon, e) Torridge, f) West Devon, g) South Hams, h) Teignbridge
13. Torbay U.A.
14. Plymouth U.A.
Cornwall 15. Isles of Scilly sui generis U.A.
16. Cornwall U.A.
West Midlands
1. Herefordshire U.A.
Shropshire 2. Shropshire U.A.
3. Telford and Wrekin U.A.
Staffordshire 4. Staffordshire † a) Cannock Chase, b) East Staffordshire, c) Lichfield, d) Newcastle-under-Lyme, e) South Staffordshire, f) Stafford, g) Staffordshire Moorlands, h) Tamworth
5. Stoke-on-Trent U.A.
6. Warwickshire † a) North Warwickshire, b) Nuneaton and Bedworth, c) Rugby, d) Stratford-on-Avon, e) Warwick
7. West Midlands * a) Birmingham, b) Coventry, c) Dudley, d) Sandwell, e) Solihull, f) Walsall, g) Wolverhampton
8. Worcestershire † a) Bromsgrove, b) Malvern Hills, c) Redditch, d) Worcester, e) Wychavon, f) Wyre Forest
Yorkshire and the Humber
1. South Yorkshire * a) Sheffield, b) Rotherham, c) Barnsley, d) Doncaster
2. West Yorkshire * a) Wakefield, b) Kirklees, c) Calderdale, d) Bradford, e) Leeds
North Yorkshire
3. North Yorkshire a) Selby, b) Harrogate, c) Craven, d) Richmondshire, e) Hambleton, f) Ryedale, g) Scarborough
4. York U.A.
East Riding of Yorkshire 5. East Riding of Yorkshire U.A.
6. Kingston upon Hull U.A.
7. North Lincolnshire U.A.
8. North East Lincolnshire U.A.
† non-metropolitan county non-metropolitan district
U.A. unitary authority (non-metropolitan county and district)
* metropolitan county metropolitan district
Greater London London borough

Read more about this topic:  Subdivisions Of England, Lists of Subdivisions

Famous quotes containing the words districts, hierarchical and/or list:

    Cities need old buildings so badly it is probably impossible for vigorous streets and districts to grow without them.... for really new ideas of any kind—no matter how ultimately profitable or otherwise successful some of them might prove to be—there is no leeway for such chancy trial, error and experimentation in the high-overhead economy of new construction. Old ideas can sometimes use new buildings. New ideas must use old buildings.
    Jane Jacobs (b. 1916)

    Authority is the spiritual dimension of power because it depends upon faith in a system of meaning that decrees the necessity of the hierarchical order and so provides for the unity of imperative control.
    Shoshana Zuboff (b. 1951)

    Religious literature has eminent examples, and if we run over our private list of poets, critics, philanthropists and philosophers, we shall find them infected with this dropsy and elephantiasis, which we ought to have tapped.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)