Redcliffe–Maud Report - Proposed Unitary Areas

Proposed Unitary Areas

Province Number Unitary authority Approximate extent
North East 1 Northumberland non-metropolitan Northumberland
2 Tyneside Tyne and Wear minus Sunderland
3 Durham ceremonial County Durham minus Easington
4 Sunderland & East Durham Sunderland and Easington
5 Teesside former non-metropolitan county of Cleveland plus Whitby etc.
Yorkshire 6 York non-metropolitan North Yorkshire and York minus Harrogate, Craven, Whitby
7 Bradford Bradford, Craven
8 Leeds Leeds, Harrogate
9 Halifax Calderdale
10 Huddersfield Kirklees
11 Mid Yorkshire Wakefield
12 Sheffield & South Yorkshire Sheffield, Rotherham
13 Doncaster Doncaster
14 North Humberside ceremonial county of East Riding of Yorkshire, small part of North Yorkshire
15 South Humberside North Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire
North West 16 Cumberland & North Westmorland Carlisle, former Cumberland, area around Appleby in Westmorland
17 Furness & North Lancashire Barrow-in-Furness, South Lakeland and Lancaster
18 The Fylde Blackpool, Fylde, Wyre
19 Preston-Leyland-Chorley Preston, South Ribble, Chorley
20 Blackburn Blackburn with Darwen, Hyndburn, Ribble Valley
21 Burnley Burnley, Pendle, Rossendale
22 Merseyside metropolitan area see below
23 Selnec metropolitan area see below
West Midlands 24 Stoke & North Staffordshire Stoke-on-Trent, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire Moorlands, Stafford, East Staffordshire, Congleton and Crewe and Nantwich
25 West Midlands metropolitan area see below
26 Shropshire Shropshire (including Telford and Wrekin)
27 Hereford & South Worcestershire Herefordshire and southern Worcestershire, excluding the districts of Wyre Forest, Bromsgrove and Redditch
28 Coventry & Warwickshire Warwickshire including Coventry
East Midlands 29 Derby & Derbyshire Derbyshire minus Glossop plus Burton upon Trent
30 Nottingham & Nottinghamshire Nottinghamshire
31 Leicester & Leicestershire Leicestershire, and most of Rutland
32 Lincoln and Lincolnshire non-metropolitan county except for South Holland and the areas around Bourne and Stamford
South West 33 Cornwall Cornwall minus Saltash and area
34 Plymouth Plymouth, the southern half of West Devon, the western part of South Hams and the area around Saltash in Cornwall
35 Exeter & Devon Devon except the southern half of West Devon and the western part of South Hams
36 Somerset non-metropolitan county of Somerset except the area around Frome
37 Bristol & Bath the former county of Avon, plus the adjacent parts of Wiltshire and the area around Frome
38 North Gloucestershire the non-metropolitan county of Gloucestershire
39 Wiltshire ceremonial county of Wiltshire except the northern part of West Wiltshire and the western part of North Wiltshire
40 Bournemouth & Dorset the ceremonial county of Dorset except the area around Sherborne, plus the western half of New Forest
East Anglia 41 Peterborourgh-North Fens the districts of Peterborough, Fenland and South Holland plus the areas around Bourne, Stamford, Oundle and Ramsey
42 Cambridge-South Fens the districts of Cambridge, East Cambridgeshire and South Cambridgeshire plus the areas around Newmarket, Saffron Walden, Haverhill, Royston, Huntingdon and St. Ives
43 Norwich & Norfolk Norfolk, except a small area to the west, plus the district of Waveney
44 Ipswich, Suffolk & North East Essex Suffolk except the areas around Newmarket and Haverhill, plus the districts of Colchester, Tendring and the northern part of Braintree
South East 45 Oxford & Oxfordshire non-metropolitan Oxfordshire minus Henley-on-Thames, plus Brackley
46 Northampton & Northamptonshire non-metropolitan Northamptonshire minus the areas around Brackley and Oundle
47 Bedford & North Buckinghamshire Bedford and Milton Keynes, plus the areas around Buckingham and Ampthill
48 Mid-Buckinghamshire Chiltern and Wycombe plus the areas around Aylesbury and Tring
49 Luton & West Hertfordshire Dacorum except Tring, St Albans, Watford, Three Rivers, Hertsmere except Potters Bar, Luton and South Bedfordshire
50 East Hertfordshire Broxbourne, East Hertfordshire, Welwyn Hatfield, Stevenage, Harlow, North Hertfordshire except Royston, the western halves of Epping Forest and Uttlesford and the areas around Biggleswade and Sandy
51 Essex ceremonial county of Essex minus Colchester, Harlow and Tendring, the western areas of Epping Forest and Uttlesford and the area around Saffron Walden
52 Reading & Berkshire non-metropolitan Berkshire plus Henley and the southern part of Buckinghamshire
53 West Surrey Spelthorne, Elmbridge, Runnymede, Surrey Heath, Woking, Guildford, Waverley, Rushmoor, Hart and the northern part of East Hampshire
54 East Surrey Epsom and Ewell, Mole Valley, Reigate and Banstead, Tandridge and Crawley
55 West Kent the western half of the current ceremonial county
56 Canterbury & East Kent the eastern half of the current ceremonial county
57 Southampton & South Hampshire the districts of Southampton, Eastleigh, Test Valley, the northern part of Winchester and the eastern part of New Forest
58 Portsmouth, South East Hampshire and Isle of Wight the Isle of Wight, the districts of Fareham, Gosport, Portsmouth, Havant and the southern parts of Winchester and East Hampshire
59 West Sussex Arun, Adur, Chichester, Horsham and Worthing
60 Brighton & Mid-Sussex Brighton and Hove, Mid Sussex and Lewes
61 East Sussex Eastbourne, Hastings, Rother and Wealden

'* Greater London (as at present)

Read more about this topic:  Redcliffe–Maud Report

Famous quotes containing the words areas and/or proposed:

    The point is, that the function of the novel seems to be changing; it has become an outpost of journalism; we read novels for information about areas of life we don’t know—Nigeria, South Africa, the American army, a coal-mining village, coteries in Chelsea, etc. We read to find out what is going on. One novel in five hundred or a thousand has the quality a novel should have to make it a novel—the quality of philosophy.
    Doris Lessing (b. 1919)

    I have always been, am, and propose to remain a mere scholar. All that I have ever proposed to myself is to say, this and this I have learned; thus and thus have I learned it; go thou and learn better; but do not thrust on my shoulders the responsibility for your own laziness if you elect to take, on my authority, conclusions the value of which you ought to have tested for yourself.
    Thomas Henry Huxley (1825–95)