Metropolitan County

Metropolitan County

The metropolitan counties are a type of county-level administrative division of England. There are six metropolitan counties, which each cover large urban areas, typically with populations of 1.2 to 2.8 million. They were created in 1974 and are each divided into several metropolitan districts.

The metropolitan county councils were abolished in 1986 with most of their functions being devolved to the individual boroughs, making them de facto unitary authorities. The remaining functions were taken over by joint boards.

The metropolitan counties have population densities of between 800 (South Yorkshire) and 2800 (West Midlands) people/km². Individual metropolitan districts range from 4,000 people/km² in Liverpool to only 500 people/km² in Doncaster. Today, residents of metropolitan counties account for around 22% of the population of England, or 18% of the United Kingdom.

Read more about Metropolitan CountyCounties and Districts

Other articles related to "county, metropolitan county, metropolitan":

Shropshire Local Elections
... Council (prior to 1 April, 2009, Shropshire County Council) is elected every four years ... The previous county council was the top-tier of local authorities in the non-metropolitan county of Shropshire, England ... is now the principal local authority of the non-metropolitan county ...
Metropolitan County - History - Current Status
... The metropolitan counties are sometimes referred to as "former metropolitan counties", although this description is not entirely correct ... The county councils were abolished, but under the Local Government Act 1972, the counties themselves remain in existence, although they no longer exist in ISO 3166-2GB as ... although they no longer appear on Ordnance Survey maps, which show the individual metropolitan boroughs ...
History Of Tyne And Wear
... Tyne and Wear /ˌtaɪn ən ˈwɪər/ is a metropolitan county in North East region of England around the mouths of the Rivers Tyne and Wear ... It came into existence as a metropolitan county in 1974 after the passage of the Local Government Act 1972 ... It consists of the five metropolitan boroughs of South Tyneside, North Tyneside, City of Newcastle upon Tyne, Gateshead and the City of Sunderland ...
Redcliffe–Maud Report - Proposed Unitary Areas
... Approximate extent North East 1 Northumberland non-metropolitan Northumberland 2 Tyneside Tyne and Wear minus Sunderland 3 Durham ceremonial County ... Yorkshire 6 York non-metropolitan North Yorkshire and York minus Harrogate, Craven, Whitby 7 Bradford Bradford, Craven 8 Leeds Leeds, Harrogate 9 Halifax Calderdale 10 Huddersfield ... South East 45 Oxford Oxfordshire non-metropolitan Oxfordshire minus Henley-on-Thames, plus Brackley 46 Northampton Northamptonshire non-metropolitan Northamptonshire minus the areas around Brackley ...
Subdivisions Of England - Lists of Subdivisions - Hierarchical List of Regions, Counties and Districts
... Region Ceremonial county Metropolitan or non-metropolitan county Districts, boroughs and cities East of England Essex 1 ... † non-metropolitan county non-metropolitan district U.A ... unitary authority (non-metropolitan county and district) * metropolitan county metropolitan district Greater London London borough ...

Famous quotes containing the words county and/or metropolitan:

    But I would say to my fellows, once for all, As long as possible live free and uncommitted. It makes but little difference whether you are committed to a farm or the county jail.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)

    In metropolitan cases, the love of the most single-eyed lover, almost invariably, is nothing more than the ultimate settling of innumerable wandering glances upon some one specific object.
    Herman Melville (1819–1891)