Commuter Rail - Commuter Rail in The World - Oceania


Major cities in Australia have suburban railway systems in their metropolitan areas. As with Japanese suburban railways or Germany's and Switzerland's S-Bahns, these Australian networks have far more frequent services and far higher ridership per capita than US 'commuter rail' in the usual sense of the term. To some US observers these networks may appear to operate as commuter/metro hybrids, however, they are simply the result of full utilisation of the available track capacity in the core of the suburban rail network, this being fed from multiple feeder lines. This is particularly so in Sydney and Melbourne, where headways on many lines in the core of the network reach 3–5 minutes in peaks and 10–20 minutes off peak (about 18 hours a day) and enter an underground loop for passenger distribution in the city centre; and where ridership per capita exceeds the sum of metro and commuter rail in comparable North American urban areas such as Toronto, Boston or the San Francisco Bay Area. All systems, however, are based on established main line rail systems, and track sharing with inter-city and freight services on parts of the network inhibit higher frequencies on some tracks. The main systems include:

  • CityRail in Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong. (largest metropolitan-wide network in Australia)
  • Metro Trains Melbourne in Melbourne. ("Metro" in this case being an abbreviation of "metropolitan", to distinguish these services from regional trains under the V/Line brand.)
  • QR Citytrain in Brisbane.
  • Transperth Trains in Perth.
  • TransAdelaide in Adelaide.

New Zealand has two commuter rail systems: in Auckland and in Wellington (Tranz Metro).

Read more about this topic:  Commuter Rail, Commuter Rail in The World

Other articles related to "oceania":

2008 Oceania Swimming Championships
... The 2008 Oceania Swimming Championships were held in New Zealand and featured competition in swimming, open water swimming and synchronized swimming ... It was the 7th Oceania Swimming Championships and second time that New Zealand hosted the event after playing host to the 2000 Championships ... Twelve of the 13 federated members of the Oceania Swimming Association competed with the Northern Mariana Islands the only member not to send any swimmers ...
1991 Rugby World Cup Qualifying - Qualified Teams
... qualifier) Americas Argentina (Americas 2) Canada (Americas 1) United States (Americas 3) Oceania and Asia Australia (automatic qualifier) Fiji (automatic qualifier) Japan (Oceania/Asia 2) New ...
Oceania - Sport - Association Football (soccer)
... The Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) is one of six association football confederations under the auspices of FIFA, the international governing body of the sport ... Currently, Vanuatu is the only country in Oceania to call football (soccer) its national sport ... Oceania has been represented at four World Cup finals tournaments — Australia in 1974, 2006 and 2010, and New Zealand in 1982 and 2010 ...
Hate Week - Plot Summary
... During one particular Hate Week, Oceania switched allies while a public speaker is in the middle of a sentence, though the disruption was minimal the posters against the previous enemy ... All members of Oceania must show appropriate enthusiasm during Hate Week as well as the Two Minutes Hate, ensuring that they are very against the opposing party and still very much allied ... was assigned to make atrocity pamphlets (falsified reports of atrocities committed by Oceania's enemies against her) designed to stimulate Oceania's populace further into enraged frenzy against all enemies ...
New Zealand Football Championship - Related Competitions - OFC Champions League
... as the O-League, is the premier football competition in Oceania ... It is organized by the OFC, Oceania's football governing body ... has been organized since 2007 under the current format, following its successor, the Oceania Club Championship ...